Senior Citizens…

This evening I received a timely e-mail from my mother that spoke to a very real reality of what we have seen happen over the past thirty some-odd years. this e-mail commented on something that thinking, rational, intelligent people have noticed. It also bluntly put blame and responsibility squarely on the shoulders of the groups that richly deserve both. But most clearly, it defines our current society in a way that identifies what has gone wrong.

Of course, it includes a number of images of Maxine…

Mail

YES, THIS IS US!!!

Senior citizens are constantly being criticized for every conceivable deficiency of the modern world, real or imaginary. We know we take responsibility for all we have done and do not blame others.

HOWEVER, upon reflection, we would like to point out that it was NOT the senior citizens who took:

The melody out of music,

The pride out of appearance,

The courtesy out of driving,

The romance out of love,

The commitment out of marriage,

The responsibility out of parenthood,

The togetherness out of the family,

The learning out of education

The service out of patriotism,

The Golden Rule from rulers,

The Nativity scene out of cities,

The civility out of behavior,

The refinement out of language,

The dedication out of employment,

The prudence out of spending,

The ambition out of achievement or

God out of government and school.

Mail

And we are NOT the ones who eliminated patience and tolerance from personal relationships and interactions with others!

And we do understand the meaning ofpatriotism and remember those who have fought and died for our country.
Mail

Just look at the Seniors with tears in their eyes and pride in their hearts as they stand at attention with their hand over their hearts!

Mail
YES, I’M A SENIOR CITIZEN!

MailI’m the life of the party…even if it only lasts until 8 p.m.

I’m very good at opening childproof caps…with a hammer.

Mail

I’m awake many hours before my body allows me to get up.

I’m smiling all the time because I can’t hear a thing you’re saying.

I’m sure everything I can’t find is in a safe secure place, somewhere.

I’m wrinkled, saggy, lumpy, and that’s just my left leg.

I’m beginning to realize that aging is not for wimps.
YES, I’M A SENIOR CITIZEN, and I think I am having the time of my life!

Mail

Now if I could only remember who sent this to me, I wouldn’t send it back.

Spread the laughter
Share the cheer
Let’s be happy
While we’re here.

MAY GOD BLESS AMERICA
MAY AMERICA THANK GOD!!

Obviously this is from those in our society who are over the age of 80 (born on or before December 1933). It is also obvious that there are some members of our society who were born after 1933 who were raised appropriately to be intelligent enough, capable enough, and mature enough to identify these realities as well. It is these people who recognize the value of each of these aspects of culture and fight for them, to instill them in others as values and vital elements that support and advance our culture.

Will we continue this fight to advance our culture by treasuring what is of true value in our culture?

About VigilantKnight

Living life on my terms.
This entry was posted in Age. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

